good day,

welp, as if yesterday’s barrage of scary internet information wasn’t overwhelming enough, this morning i made my own discovery about what’s lurking inside one of my favorite beauty products. i was thinking over my decision to home-make all-natural face wash, body wash, toothpaste, deodorant, and lip balm, when the idea crossed my mind to check the label on my tube of Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm. it says right on there, “100% natural”, and i’ve loved it for years because of this claim. Burt wouldn’t lie to me, would he? well, it turns out that even Burt has his flaws.

tumblr_lyaeqsEIOb1r2ji0eo1_500

listed as the final ingredient, after indeed harmless beeswax, oils, and extracts, was this troublemaker: limonene. i read up on it with this EPA factsheet. while limonene is naturally occurring, it is most often used in insect repellants, pesticides, and flea baths for dogs and cats. the FDA ruled that it can be a dermal irritant, and is used in beauty products only for its desirable citrus scent. sorry, Burt, but when i’m using chapstick i’m not really looking for a skin irritant or something that could double as a pesticide for my garden, no matter how yummy it smells.

alternative: homemade lip balm

my recipe will go something like this:
– beeswax
– the liquid from vitamin E capsules
– olive oil
– coconut oil
– cocoa butter
– peppermint essential oil

no insect repellants here! just raw ingredients. (here’s where i got my recipe outline)

i’m waiting on the ingredients to arrive from bulkapothecary.com. can’t wait!

